IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Safari & CNN video, they just won't play for me
Thomas S. Englan...
post Dec 30 2005, 07:27 PM
Post #1


Super Duper Poster


Group: Members
Posts: 616
Joined: 8-February 01
From: Decatur GA 30030
Member No.: 342



Every time I click on a link on CNN's website to see one of their videos, I get a box saying that I can't see it because Windows Media Player can't be found.

But I do have that Media Player installed, and re-installed.

Searching through Safari's preferences, I can't find any way to instruct Safari where to look to find it.

Is there some other way to make this work? Do the videos play for others?

Running OS 10.4.3


--------------------
Thomas S. England
Decatur GA 30030

Images from Tuscany 2008

Photo Portfolio
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kelly
post Dec 30 2005, 07:47 PM
Post #2


TS Maven


Group: Members
Posts: 17,040
Joined: 17-August 00
From: Iowa City, Iowa
Member No.: 11



Thomas. I just played one from their front page. Stuttered badly. smile.gif

I got a message like that and just clicked on continue to Video.

Have you tried that? smile.gif


--------------------
kelly
Veteran SuperUser
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dick Miller
post Dec 30 2005, 09:15 PM
Post #3


Apple Fan since 1979


Group: Members
Posts: 622
Joined: 27-September 00
From: Columbus, OH.
Member No.: 98
My Mac(s): 27" IMac Core I7 OS 10.6.5



No trouble here. But I can't play any yahoo videos with any browser.


--------------------
27" Imac core I7 3.4 GHZ
8gb ram
Nvidia GTX 680 mx 2gb
10.8.2

24" IMac Core 2 Duo 3.06 Ghz
2gb ram / 500gb HD
Nvidia 8800 cs 512 mb
10.6.3

IMac G5 20" 2.1 Ghz
10.4.9
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kbeartx
post Dec 31 2005, 01:30 AM
Post #4


TS greybeard flounder, musician, & nightowl


Group: Admin-Retired
Posts: 6,772
Joined: 17-August 00
From: Austin, TX, USA
Member No.: 5
My Mac(s): G5 Dual 2GHz, 3.5 Gb RAM, 750Gb Seagate, 150 Gb original HD, Samsung 21.6



When I attempted to view Nickel Creek's music videos a month or two ago, I discovered that they required Windoze Media Player 10, which is not available for Macs AT ALL.

It turned out that I could not even see them on my lone peasea EITHER, since it runs Win2K, which also cannot use WMP 10.

Another example of Microsoft forcing everybody to upgrade to XP ...

- Kb
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mayo
post Dec 31 2005, 03:08 AM
Post #5


Beyond help


Group: Members
Posts: 3,215
Joined: 18-September 00
Member No.: 42
My Mac(s): 24" 2.16GHz Core 2 Duo iMac, 15" 2.4GHz Core 2 Duo MacBook Pro, iPhone 3GS 32GB, Airport Extreme Base Station, Airport Express, 80GB iPod 5G Video, 80GB iPod Classic, HP Photosmart 8450, Apple LaserWriter Select 360, Epson Perfection 1260 flatbed scanner, Nikon D200, Nikon Coolpix 8400, Nikon Coolscan V film scanner.



CNN videos play just fine for me. OS 10.4.3/Safari 2.0.2/WMV Plugin (Beats the heck out of Windows Media Player, which no longer has a home on our iBooks...)

thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Mayo: Dec 31 2005, 03:09 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Thomas S. Englan...
post Dec 31 2005, 06:48 AM
Post #6


Super Duper Poster


Group: Members
Posts: 616
Joined: 8-February 01
From: Decatur GA 30030
Member No.: 342



thumbup.gif[/QUOTE]
QUOTE
CNN videos play just fine for me.  OS 10.4.3/Safari 2.0.2/WMV Plugin (Beats the heck out of Windows Media Player


Bingo! Techsurvivors comes through one more. WMV did the trick for me. thanks


--------------------
Thomas S. England
Decatur GA 30030

Images from Tuscany 2008

Photo Portfolio
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dick Miller
post Dec 31 2005, 09:42 AM
Post #7


Apple Fan since 1979


Group: Members
Posts: 622
Joined: 27-September 00
From: Columbus, OH.
Member No.: 98
My Mac(s): 27" IMac Core I7 OS 10.6.5



Where do you get WMV plugin?


--------------------
27" Imac core I7 3.4 GHZ
8gb ram
Nvidia GTX 680 mx 2gb
10.8.2

24" IMac Core 2 Duo 3.06 Ghz
2gb ram / 500gb HD
Nvidia 8800 cs 512 mb
10.6.3

IMac G5 20" 2.1 Ghz
10.4.9
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Thomas S. Englan...
post Dec 31 2005, 01:04 PM
Post #8


Super Duper Poster


Group: Members
Posts: 616
Joined: 8-February 01
From: Decatur GA 30030
Member No.: 342



QUOTE(Dick Miller @ Dec 31 2005, 9:42 AM)
Where do you get WMV plugin?


here

This post has been edited by Thomas S. England: Dec 31 2005, 01:06 PM


--------------------
Thomas S. England
Decatur GA 30030

Images from Tuscany 2008

Photo Portfolio
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mayo
post Dec 31 2005, 02:11 PM
Post #9


Beyond help


Group: Members
Posts: 3,215
Joined: 18-September 00
Member No.: 42
My Mac(s): 24" 2.16GHz Core 2 Duo iMac, 15" 2.4GHz Core 2 Duo MacBook Pro, iPhone 3GS 32GB, Airport Extreme Base Station, Airport Express, 80GB iPod 5G Video, 80GB iPod Classic, HP Photosmart 8450, Apple LaserWriter Select 360, Epson Perfection 1260 flatbed scanner, Nikon D200, Nikon Coolpix 8400, Nikon Coolscan V film scanner.



Thomas, I tried to show you the path back in October... coolio.gif

Now doesn't it feel good to get one more piece of Microsoft crapware off your Mac?

yahoo.gif

This post has been edited by Mayo: Dec 31 2005, 02:14 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kcourt
post Dec 31 2005, 02:48 PM
Post #10


Super Duper Poster


Group: Members
Posts: 908
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Laguna Niguel, CA
Member No.: 1,886
My Mac(s): Intel 1Mac 3.2 GHz, 4 GB ram, 27" display, OS X 10.6.5, JBL Creature III speakers, 3 LaCie External hard disks, Canon i960 Photo printer, Brother Color Laser printer HL-4070CDW, Epson Perfection V300 scanner, D-Link USB 2 hub



I've had the same problem with CNN videos. Guess I will check out the WMV plug-in.

thanx.gif for the info.

Kathy flower-smilie.gif


--------------------
Live simply,
Love generously,
Care deeply,
Speak kindly....
Leave the rest to God
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dick Miller
post Dec 31 2005, 07:51 PM
Post #11


Apple Fan since 1979


Group: Members
Posts: 622
Joined: 27-September 00
From: Columbus, OH.
Member No.: 98
My Mac(s): 27" IMac Core I7 OS 10.6.5



thanx.gif Thomas. That Plugin works great.

Dick


--------------------
27" Imac core I7 3.4 GHZ
8gb ram
Nvidia GTX 680 mx 2gb
10.8.2

24" IMac Core 2 Duo 3.06 Ghz
2gb ram / 500gb HD
Nvidia 8800 cs 512 mb
10.6.3

IMac G5 20" 2.1 Ghz
10.4.9
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 11:51 AM