IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> macOS 10.12.6 update
jchuzi
post Jul 19 2017, 09:22 PM
Post #1


TS Addict


Group: Members
Posts: 2,132
Joined: 20-May 04
From: New York State
Member No.: 1,731
My Mac(s): OS 10.12.6, iMac Retina 5K 27-inch, late 2014, 3.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 1 TB fusion drive, 16 GB RAM, Epson SureColor P600, Photoshop CC, Lightroom CC, Office 2008, Nikon LS 8000 scanner



I downloaded and installed the update via App Store. All went smoothly.


--------------------
Jon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xairbusdriver
post Jul 20 2017, 09:35 AM
Post #2


Patience is for humans!


Group: Admin
Posts: 23,624
Joined: 16-November 00
From: Memphis, TN area
Member No.: 234
My Mac(s): 10.12.6



Thanks! I also hope you are a blood donor since you like to live on the 'bleeding edge'! wink.gif


--------------------
I DREAM OF A SOCIETY
where a chicken can cross the road
without having its motives questioned.

Signals, holiday 2014
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xairbusdriver
post Jul 21 2017, 04:28 PM
Post #3


Patience is for humans!


Group: Admin
Posts: 23,624
Joined: 16-November 00
From: Memphis, TN area
Member No.: 234
My Mac(s): 10.12.6



Only see one problem report. Sounds like a failed download. I may look for the Combo Updater... when I bite the bullet! laughhard.gif


--------------------
I DREAM OF A SOCIETY
where a chicken can cross the road
without having its motives questioned.

Signals, holiday 2014
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jwboyd
post Jul 21 2017, 07:27 PM
Post #4


Super Duper Poster


Group: Members
Posts: 808
Joined: 16-November 00
From: Lebanon IN
Member No.: 235
My Mac(s): 27 inch iMac (Late 2012), OS 10.12.6, HP LaserJet 1012, HP ENVY 5540 All-In-One, Three external drives, Very Patient Wife. Keeping my 15-inch MacBook Pro for when I travel.



After installing 10.12.6, TechToolPro can't find any of my external drives when I boot from my internal drive. When I boot from any external drive, TTP can find all of them.

It also messed up SuperDuper. Carbon Copy Cloner works fine.

Will continue to work on both of these issues. All suggestions welcome.

Joe

UPDATE:
Dave Nanian, developer of SuperDuper, emailed me some easy-to-follow instructions on how to fix SD. The SuperDuper fix also seems to have improved TechToolPro. It now "sees" all three of my drives (one internal, two external) but will not allow a volume rebuild on one of the externals when I'm booted from my internal drive. When booted from either external, all functions are operable. I will keep at it until I get it all like I want it.


--------------------
I'm not a complete idiot -- a few parts are missing!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xairbusdriver
post Jul 21 2017, 07:34 PM
Post #5


Patience is for humans!


Group: Admin
Posts: 23,624
Joined: 16-November 00
From: Memphis, TN area
Member No.: 234
My Mac(s): 10.12.6



RATS! Might be wise to check the dev's sites for TTP and SD.

I stopped using SD several months ago and now rely on CarbonCopyCloner and TimeMachine.


--------------------
I DREAM OF A SOCIETY
where a chicken can cross the road
without having its motives questioned.

Signals, holiday 2014
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jchuzi
post Jul 21 2017, 09:01 PM
Post #6


TS Addict


Group: Members
Posts: 2,132
Joined: 20-May 04
From: New York State
Member No.: 1,731
My Mac(s): OS 10.12.6, iMac Retina 5K 27-inch, late 2014, 3.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 1 TB fusion drive, 16 GB RAM, Epson SureColor P600, Photoshop CC, Lightroom CC, Office 2008, Nikon LS 8000 scanner



QUOTE(jwboyd @ Jul 21 2017, 08:27 PM) *
After installing 10.12.6, TechToolPro can't find any of my external drives when I boot from my internal drive. When I boot from any external drive, TTP can find all of them.

It also messed up SuperDuper. Carbon Copy Cloner works fine.

Will continue to work on both of these issues. All suggestions welcome.

Joe

TTP 9.5.1 sees all four of my external drives. Mine are connected via Thunderbolt. What is your connection? That might be relevant. (I have two HDDs and two SSDs.)


--------------------
Jon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
krissel
post Jul 23 2017, 01:17 AM
Post #7


TS nightowl


Group: Admin
Posts: 14,535
Joined: 17-August 00
From: NJ, USA
Member No.: 16
My Mac(s): MBP 13 2.7/10.12.6; MBA 11 1.3/10.12.3; MBP 17 2.5/10.8.2/10.68; MBP 15 2.5/10.6.8; 2 MacMinis 2.8/10.12.6;... oh heck, a lot of Apple stuff



A particular security problem that this update fixes:

https://finance.yahoo.com/news/apple-device...-204500619.html


--------------------


A Techsurvivors founder
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
weldiger
post Jul 27 2017, 09:21 AM
Post #8


Older than Dirt


Group: Members
Posts: 670
Joined: 17-August 00
From: Loafers Glory, NC
Member No.: 9
My Mac(s): Apple II - MacBook Air & most everything between.🤠



QUOTE(krissel @ Jul 23 2017, 02:17 AM) *
A particular security problem that this update fixes:

https://finance.yahoo.com/news/apple-device...-204500619.html



Been there done that.
thumbup.gif


--------------------
Shalom
weldiger
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th September 2017 - 09:33 PM