IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> What does this error message mean?, There are always 3 or 4 anyway.
jcarter
post Jul 19 2017, 09:07 AM
Post #1


Jane


Group: Members
Posts: 5,568
Joined: 26-March 02
From: Cape Cod, MA NE USA
Member No.: 979
My Mac(s): 3 Macs, two 27 inchers running Yosemite 10.10.5, and one 24 inch 10.6.8.



I get this message once in a while and there is no problem whatsoever with anything.
It just appears. There are always at least 3 on that IP address at any time.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  three.jpg ( 22.86K ) Number of downloads: 14
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Paddy
post Jul 19 2017, 09:56 AM
Post #2


TS Maven


Group: Admin
Posts: 13,222
Joined: 3-October 00
From: Toronto, ON, Canada
Member No.: 133
My Mac(s): 2.7GHz 2012 Retina MacBook Pro, 4GHz late-2014 27" iMac, iPad Pro, iPhone 5S and various other Apple thingies belonging to household members



QUOTE(jcarter @ Jul 19 2017, 10:07 AM) *
I get this message once in a while and there is no problem whatsoever with anything.
It just appears. There are always at least 3 on that IP address at any time.


Well, actually, no, there are not three other devices on that IP at any time. The IP the message refers to is the internal one handed out by your router - different for each device. It may have handed out the IP that your Mac had before it went to sleep to another device, and now that your Mac is back on the network, it's got the same IP as the other device.

You may want to check your settings to make sure they're all correct. https://www.imore.com/another-device-using-...dress-heres-fix

If I see that message, I just click "ok" and it usually self-corrects and I carry on. Other fixes include things like going into network prefs->Advanced->TCP/IP and clicking on "renew lease" or things like restarting the modem etc.


--------------------
"Home computers are being called upon to perform many new functions, including the consumption of homework formerly eaten by the dog." ~Doug Larson
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xairbusdriver
post Jul 19 2017, 01:30 PM
Post #3


Patience is for humans!


Group: Admin
Posts: 23,624
Joined: 16-November 00
From: Memphis, TN area
Member No.: 234
My Mac(s): 10.12.6



I agree with Paddy, but I think you should also contact your network manager! The sooner the better! thumbup.gif


--------------------
I DREAM OF A SOCIETY
where a chicken can cross the road
without having its motives questioned.

Signals, holiday 2014
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jcarter
post Jul 19 2017, 04:24 PM
Post #4


Jane


Group: Members
Posts: 5,568
Joined: 26-March 02
From: Cape Cod, MA NE USA
Member No.: 979
My Mac(s): 3 Macs, two 27 inchers running Yosemite 10.10.5, and one 24 inch 10.6.8.



Thanks!
I did have all the settings correct, I used your link to check it.
And just clicking OK is what I do.
I only see this message about 3 times a year.

I did subscribe to this iMore link. Looks good.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st September 2017 - 02:36 PM